Pickled!

When I was a little girl my mom used to can and pickled everything you could think of. So I grew up making these thing with my mom and generally falling in love with pickles.

My mom would pickle some unusual things. My favourites are still pickled carrots. Of course we did beets and green beans too. I don’t know where my love for pickled eggs came from as I first had them several years after leaving home.

I made some pickled carrots and eggs a few weeks ago. Both are a resounding success, but I’m most impressed with the eggs. They turned out so perfectly that they have totally inspired me.

So dinner’s inspiration was wheat flour noodles in a fish broth with steamed broad beans and purple sprouting broccoli with one of my pickled eggs sliced on top. Wonderful!

~ by Donna on April 29, 2009.

2 Responses to “Pickled!”

  1. I feel the same way about pickled carrots. My great-grandma had a wonderful recipe for them, which has onions and some other vegetable (cauliflower? I forget) in the jar as well, along with the pickling spices and brine. I love pickled chile peppers, too, but I have yet to come across a half-decent recipe that a) costs less than commercially-bought ones, and b) tastes better even if it costs a little more.

    Heartbreaking.

  2. Pickling is what got me to tolerate eggs – I knew a hardboiled egg would make a great breakfast, but I just don’t like the things… that was until I started pickling them. Now I’m addicted!

    I haven’t tried them in a soup yet, but the idea has me slaving – sounds wonderful!

    Have you tried any “fermentation” or “natural” pickles? Its my new obsession.
    A good basic recipe here- http://www.amazon.com/Charcuterie-Craft-Salting-Smoking-Curing/dp/0393058298

    although I’ve been loving an old Ball Jar cookbook from circa 1960 that my Grandmother has squirreled away in a pieces in a ziploc bag.

Leave a Reply

 
