Old Things

I love old things, but I especially love old kitchen wares. I inherited a majority of my cooking utensils and dishes from my Grandmother. I loved them so much that I even shipped them all over here to the UK. There was no way I was leaving them behind, no matter how costly it was. So you can imagine how I squeeled when I saw this bundt pan in the charity shop last week. I had to have it. In most charity shops it’d be 50p, but we were in Oxfam so it cost £2.50. I still had to have it despite the price and the layer of blech on the inside that wasn’t rust but definitely meant it needed a very good scrub.

This pan is easily older than me and unlike most bundt pans, it doesn’t have the fluting that you usually see in them. It’s also heavier than most cake pans. It’s more like a bread tin in it’s weight. So I made up a pretty standard yellow cake and added some cherries and almonds to it and popped it into the oven. What came out was a lovely cake with a crust that reminds me of bread and a soft cake-y inside.

It lasted 3 days.

~ by Donna on April 28, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
